

**Jared DeMarinis** State Administrator

**Katherine Berry**Deputy Administrator

Michael Summers, Chairman Yaakov "Jake" Weissmann Diane Butler Jim Shalleck Victoria Jackson-Stanley

## Prince George's County to Hold Special Primary Election ahead of November's 2024 Presidential Election

**ANNAPOLIS (July 9, 2024)** – The Prince George's County Council announced that the county will hold a special primary election for a Council Member-At-Large seat on August 6, 2024, and that the general election will be combined on the State ballot for the 2024 Presidential election on November 5, 2024.

The Primary Election will be a vote-by-mail election whereby all registered, eligible Prince George's County voters will be automatically mailed a ballot. They do not have to request a ballot. Voters who have not yet registered and who wish to vote in the special primary must do so by July 16. Ballots will begin to be mailed around July 23.

If a voter is on the permanent absentee ballot list for all elections AND they request their permanent absentee ballot be delivered via the web, their ballot will be delivered via the web. All other voters will receive their ballots in the regular postal mail. Any voter can request web delivery by completing a mail-in ballot application at

https://elections.maryland.gov/voting/absentee.html.

Drop Boxes will be deployed around July 22 at the following locations:

Accokeek Academy - 1400 Berry Road, Accokeek, MD 20607 Ardmore Elementary School - 9301 Ardwick Ardmore Road, Upper Marlboro, MD 20774

**Baden Community Center** - 13601 Baden-Westwood Road, Brandywine, MD 20613

**Beltsville Community Center** - 3900 Sellman Road, Beltsville, MD 20705 **Berwyn Heights Community Center** - 6200 Pontiac Street, Berwyn Heights, MD 20740

**Bladensburg Community Center** - 4500 57th Avenue, Bladensburg, MD 20710

**Bowie Community Center** - 3209 Stonybrook Drive, Bowie, MD 2071 **Calverton Elementary School** - 3400 Beltsville Road, Beltsville, MD 20705 **Carrollton Elementary School** - 8300 Quintana Street, New Carrollton, MD 20784

**College Park Community Center** - 5051 Pierce Avenue, College Park, MD 20740

**Deerfield Run Community Center** - 13000 Laurel Bowie Road, Laurel, MD 20708

**Glenarden/Theresa Banks Complex** - 8615 Mclain Avenue, Glenarden, MD 20706

**Glenn Dale Community Center** - 11901 Glenn Dale Boulevard, Glenn Dale, MD 20769

**Good Luck Community Center** - 8601 Good Luck Road, Lanham, MD 20706

**Harmony Hall Regional Center** - 10701 Livingston Road, Fort Washington, MD 20744

**Hillcrest Heights Community Center** - 2300 Oxon Run Drive, Temple Hills, MD 20748

**Isaac J. Gourdine Middle School** - 8700 Allentown Road,Fort Washington, MD 20744

Kentland Community Center - 2413 Pinebrook Road, Landover, MD 20785 Lake Arbor Community Center - 10100 Lake Arbor Way, Mitchellville, MD 20721

**Largo/Kettering/Perrywood Community Center** - 431 Watkins Park Drive, Upper Marlboro, MD 20774

**Laurel-Beltsville Senior Activity Center** - 7120 Contee Road, Laurel, MD 20707

Non-Traditional Program at Edgar Allen Poe - 2001 Shadyside Avenue, Suitland, MD 20746

Non-Traditional Program North (Tall Oak Vocational High School) - 2112 Church Road, Bowie, MD 20721

North Brentwood Community Center - 4012 Webster Street, Brentwood, MD 20722

North Forestville Community Center - 2311 Ritchie Road, Forestville, MD 20747

**Prince George's Board of Elections Office** - 1100 Mercantile Lane, Suite 115A, Largo, MD 20774

**Prince George's Plaza Community Center** - 6600 Adelphi Road, Hyattsville, MD 20782

**Robert Goddard Montessori School** - 9850 Good Luck Road, Lanham, MD 20706

**Rollingcrest-Chillum Community Center** - 6120 Sargent Road, Chillum, MD 20782

**South Bowie Community Center** - 1717 Pittsfield Lane, Bowie, MD 20716 **Southern Area Aquatic and Recreation Complex** - 13601 Missouri Avenue, Brandywine, MD 20613

**Southern Regional Technology and Recreation Complex** - 7007 Bock Road, Fort Washington, MD 20744

**Suitland Community Park School Center** - 5600 Regency Lane, Forestville, MD 20747

**Temple Hills Community Center** - 5300 Temple Hill Road, Temple Hills, MD 20748

**Thomas S. Stone Elementary School** - 4500 34th Street, Mount Rainier, MD 20712

**Tucker Road Community Center** - 1771 Tucker Road, Fort Washington, MD 20744

**Upper Marlboro Community Center** - 5400 Marlboro Race Track Road, Upper Marlboro, MD 20772

**Wayne K. Curry Sports and Learning Center** - 8001 Sheriff Road, Hyattsville, MD 20785

**Westphalia Community Center** - 8900 Westphalia Road, Upper Marlboro, MD 20774

If a voter does not wish to vote by mail, they can visit an early voting center between July 31-August 5 to cast a regular ballot. Hours of voting from July 31 through August 3 are 10 a.m. until 8 p.m. On Sunday, August 4, hours of voting will be from 12 p.m. until 6 p.m. Monday, August 5 hours of voting will be 10 a.m. until 8 p.m. If the voter has already returned a voted mail-in ballot, they will be required to vote a provisional ballot. The following locations have been designated as an early voting center location:

Accokeek Academy – 14400 Berry Road, Accokeek, MD 20607 Ardmore Elementary School – 9301 Ardwick Ardmore Road, Upper Marlboro, MD 20774

Calverton Elementary – 3400 Beltsville Road, Beltsville, MD 20705 Carrollton Elementary – 8300 Quintana Street, New Carrollton, MD 20784 Non-Traditional Program at Edgar Allen Poe – 2001 Shadyside Avenue, Suitland, MD 20746

**Isaac J. Gourdine Middle School** – 8700 Allentown Road, Fort Washington, MD 20744

Robert Goddard Montessori School – 9850 Good Luck Road, Lanham, MD 20706

Non-Traditional Program North (Tall Oaks Vocational High School) – 2112 Church Road, Bowie, MD 20721

**Thomas Stone Elementary** – 4500 34th Street, Mount Rainier, MD 20712

The Special Primary Day election on August 6 will have in-person voting at all of the designated early voting locations listed above from 7a.m. until 8 p.m. If the voter has already returned a voted mail-in ballot, they will be required to vote a provisional ballot.

On Election Day, the Prince George's County Board of Elections will begin to conduct the mail-in ballot canvass. The provisional ballot canvass will be held on Wednesday, August 14 and the final day of mail-in ballot canvass will be held on Friday, August 16. More information can be found by contacting the Prince George's County Board of Elections or visiting their website at https://elections@mypgc.us.

"The State Board of Elections, Prince George's County Board of Elections and Prince George's County Council have worked closely to ensure that access to the ballot is maximized for voters. We will continue to provide outreach to Prince George's County residents to ensure that we can maximize participation in this important election," said Jared DeMarinis, State Administrator, the State Board of Elections.